Charity logo

Stay Connected

Facebook
Twitter
Instagram

News

2017 NPF CHAMPIONSHIP SERIES FREE ON NPF TV, COMPLETE COVERAGE

AKRON, OH – After a furious comeback in the month of August, the Akron Racers climbed the NPF standings from fifth place, and outside of the 2017 NPF Championship Series, into a third-place finish and a series with the second-seeded Scrap Yard Dawgs beginning Thursday, August 17 at LSU’s Tiger Park in Baton Rouge, Louisiana – the site of this year’s Championship Series.
 
The Racers finished the season 7-2 to clinch a postseason spot on the next to last day of the regular season, eliminating the Texas Charge in a head-to-head meeting and then passed the Chicago Bandits on Sunday, August 13, the final day of the regular season.
 
Akron will face the Dawgs on August 17 in the first game of a best-of-three series between the two teams.  The first game will begin at 9:00 p.m. ET/8:00 p.m. CT.  Game 2 of the series will be played Friday, August 18, beginning at 6:00 p.m. ET/5:00 p.m. CT.  The third game, if necessary, will be played at 11:00 a.m. ET/10:00 a.m. CT on Saturday, August 19.
 
The Racers and Dawgs played a four-game series at Firestone Stadium last week, in which the two teams drew a 2-2 split, with Akron sweeping a doubleheader on Wednesday, August 9 by scores of 7-5 and 7-3.
 
The winner of the series between the Racers and Dawgs will meet the winner of the other semifinal, either the top seeded USSSA Pride or the fourth-seeded Bandits beginning Saturday evening at 8:00 p.m. ET/7:00 p.m. CT and concluding on Sunday with a game at 2:00 p.m. ET/1:00 p.m. CT and the final game, if necessary, at 5:00 p.m. ET/4:00 p.m. CT.
 
Every game of the 2017 NPF Championship Series will be free to watch on NPF TV, the league’s internet-based streaming service, as well as the annual Awards Banquet on Wednesday, August 16.  In addition to NPF TV, the NPF Championship Series will also be streamed on MLB.com and The Olympic Channel.  
 
##
 
About the Akron Racers: The Akron Racers, headquartered in Akron, OH, are the oldest existing team in the National Pro Fastpitch (NPF) league. The Racers will celebrate their 16th season of play in 2017.  The Racers competed in the Women's Pro Softball League (WPSL) for two seasons in 1999 and 2000 and in the NPF since 2004.  Historic Firestone Stadium is home to the Racers and numerous amateur events at all levels of play.  
 
About National Pro Fastpitch (NPF)
National Pro Fastpitch (NPF), an Official Development Partner of Major League Baseball since 2004, provides elite female athletes with an opportunity to pursue a professional career in fastpitch softball beyond their collegiate and amateur success.  The NPF affiliate teams consist of the Akron Racers, Beijing Shougang Eagles, Chicago Bandits, Scrap Yard Dawgs, Texas Charge and USSSA Florida Pride for the 2017 season. National Pro Fastpitch players hail from the United States, Australia, Canada and China among which are the most accomplished and talented athletes in the sport of women’s softball.
 


Search Archive »




Browse by Year »

2018
2017
2016
2013
2012

Site Map