Charity logo

Stay Connected


News Archives

Bach a top nine finalist for 2012 NCAA Women of the Year

Softball’s Hillary Bach a Top Nine Finalist for 2012 NCAA Woman of the Year
Tillman Scholar is just second Sun Devil to be Pac-12 Woman of the Year

INDIANAPOLIS – Hillary Bach of Arizona State softball’s 2012 senior class has been selected as a Top Nine Finalist for the 2012 Woman of the Year Award. The former Tillman Scholar was the 2012 Pac-12 Conference Woman of the Year, as announced this past August.
Bach graduated with her undergraduate degree in business marketing in 2011, as a junior on the softball team. A winner of the NCAA Postgraduate Scholarship this July, she is currently working towards her masters of business administration.

Top 9 Finalist for 2012 NCAA Woman of the Year

Hillary Bach, Arizona State University
Pac-12 Conference
Business Marketing
Hometown: Tulsa, Oklahoma

Grace Collins, Barry University
Sunshine State Conference
Philosophy and History
Hometown: Tampa, Florida

Kate Griewisch, Lenoir-Rhyne University
South Atlantic Conference
Cross Country, Indoor and Outdoor Track and Field
Hometown: Banner Elk, North Carolina

Kelsey Kittleson, Luther College
Iowa Intercollegiate Athletic Conference
Hometown: St. Ansgar, Iowa

Sarah Jane Otey, U.S. Coast Guard Academy
New England Women’s & Men’s Athletic Conference
Marine and Environmental Science
Rowing and Swimming
Hometown: Billings, Montana

Brooke Pancake, University of Alabama
Southeastern Conference
Hometown: Chattanooga, Tennessee

Alexi Pappas, Dartmouth University
Ivy League
Creative Writing and English
Cross Country, Indoor and Outdoor Track and Field
Hometown: Alameda, California

Elizabeth Phillips, Washington University (Missouri)
University Athletic Association
Biomedical Engineering
Cross Country, Indoor and Outdoor Track and Field
Hometown: Homer Glen, Illinois

Verena Preikschas, California State University, Stanislaus
Hometown: Arnsberg, Germany
Beginning with 429 individuals who were nominated by member institutions for the national award, the selection process was narrowed down to the top 30 honorees, composed of 10 honorees from each NCAA division and spanning various NCAA sports.
Cumulatively, the top 30 earned a 3.87 grade-point average and more than 90 Academic All-America honors, earned nearly 20 national championships (individual and team) and nearly 110 All-America honors and have volunteered for more than 375 organizations during their college careers.
In 2004, ASU football’s Grayling Love was the first recipient of the Pac-10 Conference Sportsmanship Award, which was open to both genders and the predecessor to the conference creating the Woman of the Year award.

Courtesy of Arizona State Softball

Search Archive »

Browse by Year »


Browse by Month »

March 2020
October 2019
March 2019
November 2018
September 2018
June 2018
May 2018
April 2018
March 2018
January 2018
December 2017
October 2017
September 2017
August 2017
July 2017
June 2017
May 2017
April 2017
March 2017
February 2017
January 2017
December 2016
November 2016
September 2016
August 2016
July 2016
June 2016
May 2016
April 2016
March 2016
February 2016
January 2016
December 2015
November 2015
October 2015
September 2015
August 2015
July 2015
June 2015
May 2015
April 2015
March 2015
February 2015
January 2015
November 2014
October 2014
September 2014
August 2014
July 2014
June 2014
May 2014
April 2014
March 2014
February 2014
January 2014
December 2013
November 2013
October 2013
September 2013
August 2013
July 2013
June 2013
May 2013
April 2013
March 2013
February 2013
January 2013
December 2012
October 2012
September 2012
August 2012
July 2012
June 2012
May 2012
April 2012
March 2012
February 2012
January 2012
November 2011
October 2011
August 2011
January 2011

Site Map